Staff Selection Commission – Combined Higher Secondary Level (10+2) Examination, often referred as SSC – CHSL is a secondary level examination. 12th passed students are eligible for SSC – CHSL. SSC conducts CHSL exam every exam. Every year SSC conducts the SSC Combined Graduate Level Examination for recruiting non-gazetted officers to various government jobs. It is an examination for the post of Lower Division Clerk/Junior Secretariat Assistant, Postal Assistant and Data Entry Operator. This exam is offered annually in both Hindi & English languages. More than lakhs of students appear for the exam but only thousands of students are selected.

Posts under SSC CHSL

Staff Selection Commission (SSC) organizes the Combined Higher Secondary Level (CHSL, 10 + 2) Examination for recruitment of candidates on the following four posts:

  1. Data Entry Operator - The post of Data Entry Operator is the most preferred post among the SSC CHSL candidates, most candidates give higher priority to this post. The main work of a Data Entry Operator is to:
  • Maintain Database - To create a proper database and update it from time-to-time, one need to research and collect data from different systems.
  • Checking Mails - To check mails and responding to them under the supervision of senior officials and maintaining a clear record of receiving any important messages.
  • Other than this, DEO is responsible for work of department’s computer such as, maintaining reports, datasheets, presentations, creating and maintain all documents and records.

SSC-CHSL Data Entry Operator Post Levels

Level I : Data Entry Operator Grade B

Level II : Data Entry Operator Grade C

Level III : Data Entry Operator Grade F (System Analyst)

  1. Lower Division Clerk (LDC)/ Junior Secretariat Assistant (JSA) – Lower Divisional Clerk is a whole pen and paper mode based work, which means your work will be handled by papers, files and record. The work of a LDC involves:
  • To provide information, files, records and other details to their senior executives.
  • Preparation of various important documents, billing receipt and salary receipts of employees.
  • Show and submit the prepared reports to their senior employees.

SSC-CHSL Lower Division Clerk (LDC)/ Junior Secretariat Assistant (JSA) Post Levels

Level I : Assistant/ Upper Division Clerk

Level II : Divisional Clerk

Level III : Section Officer

  1. Postal Assistants/Sorting Assistants (PA/SA) – Postal Assistants/ Sorting Assistants have to work on mails and handling the documents.
  • Postal Assistant is responsible for the formatting of the documents, database entries in computer or registers, office management and preparation of complied report of existing data.
  • Finding the address of the mail received, and responding to them. If PA is unable to locate the receivers’ address then return the mail to the sender.
  • Separate the received mail from disposal and update it to the computer.
  • To listen and support customers’ questions and providing them a correct solution.
  • Broadcasting foreign articles through post office network.
  • Responsible for inter-city transmission of mail between the mail office and post offices.

Under the postal department, candidate will be selected for one of the following departments:

  1. Army Postal Service
  2. Post Office
  3. Circle Office and Regional Office
  4. Foreign Post Offices
  5. Saving Bank Control Organizations
  6. Mail Motor Organizations
  7. Postal Stores Depots
  8. Railway Mail Services

               SSC-CHSL Postal Assistant (PA)/ Sorting Assistant (SA) Post Levels

Level I : Lower Section Grade I / Supervisor

Level II : Higher Selection Grade II / Senior Supervisor

Level III : Higher Selection Grade III / Chief Supervisor

  1. Court Clerk – The work of Court Clerk is to assist in the administration of the court. Court Clerk usually works for Attorneys, Lawyers and Judges.

Court Clerk maintain court records, swear during court hearing, seal copies of court’s decisions and orders, prepare meeting agenda, account and book-keeping.

           SSC-CHSL Court Clerk Post Levels

Level I : Assistant Clerk

Level II : Bench Clerk

Level III : Head Clerk

Eligibility Criteria for SSC CHSL

There are a set of expected eligibility criteria that you should qualify to apply for SSC – CHSL Recruitment 2019.

  1. Age Limit

Minimum Age Limit: 18 years

Maximum Age Limit: 27 years

Age Relaxation

  • SC/ ST : 5 years
  • OBC : 3 years
  • Physically Handicapped : 10 years
  • Physically Handicapped + OBC : 13 years
  • Physically Handicapped + SC/ST : 15 years
  1. Educational Qualification
  • Candidates must have passed 12th Standard or equivalent examination from a recognized Board or University.
  • Candidates who have not acquired but will acquire the educational qualification and document of its evidence from the Board/University in support of as on 01.08.2019 will also be eligible.
  • Candidates who are able to prove, by documents that the result of their academic exam was declared on or before the cut-off date, i.e., 01st August 2019 and has been declared passed, will also be considered to have the required Educational Qualification.

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern & Syllabus

Candidates of SSC-CHSL will be shortlisted on the basis of their performance at all the level of examination. There may be separate cut-offs for different posts i.e. DEO, DEO Grade 'A', LDC/ JSA, PA/ SA in all levels.

SSC-CHSL Exam will be conducted in three phase, where each phase needs to be cleared depending on the requirements of different posts. SSC-CHSL will be conducted in three tiers, i.e., Tier – 1, Tier – 2 and Tier – 3.

Tier – 1 is an Objective Based Online Exam, which consists of 4 sections. Each section contains 25 questions for 50 marks. The total duration of this exam is of 60 minutes.

Tier – 2 is a Descriptive Based Pen and Paper Mode Exam, where SSC checks the writing skills of the candidate. He/ She needs to write essay and application/ letter for Tier 2 exam.  The Tier – 2 is of 1 hour and contains 100 marks.

Tier – 3 is a Skill Based/ Computer Proficiency Exam, where SSC-CHAL Exam committee conducts typing test and interview for the candidate.

SSC- CHSL Tier – 1/ Preliminary Exam

SSC–CHSL Tier – 1 is an objective examination which will be conducted online. The exam comprises of 4 sections, which consists of 25 questions and 50 marks for each.


No.of Questions

Max Marks

Exam Duration

General Intelligence



60 minutes

General Awareness



Quantitative Aptitude



English Language






SSC- CHSL Tier – 2/ Descriptive Exam

SSC- CHSL Tier – 2 is a descriptive test that is conducted to test the writing skills of the candidates. Candidate can choose either English or Hindi language for this exam according to their preference. This exam is of 60 minutes and contains 100 marks. The candidate must obtain a minimum of 33% marks in order to qualify the SSC-CHSL Tier – 2 Exam.


Max Marks



Descriptive type paper in English or Hindi

(Writing of Essay/ Precise/ Letter/ Application etc.)


1 Hour

SSC- CHSL Tier – 3/ Skill Based Exam

When the candidate qualifies both Tier – 1, Tier – 2 they can attempt Tier 3.

It is a skill based exam. Exam authority conduct typing test for the candidate and interview.


According to the latest exam calendar of SSC-CHSL, tentative schedule of exam is as provided as below.




Online Application Starts From

5 March, 2019

Last Date of Online Registration

5 April, 2019

SSC - CHSL Tier - 1 Admit Card

June, 2019

SSC - CHSL Tier - 2 Exam Date

1 July to 26 July, 2019

SSC - CHSL Tier - 2 Admit Card


SSC - CHSL Tier - 2 Exam Date

29 September, 2019

SSC - CHSL Tier - 3 Exam Date

To be notified later